Section 508 Website Accessibility

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Lutgert College of Business

Lutgert College of Business

COB Handbook - Governance


State Board of Education   
In November 1998, Florida’s citizens voted to change the Board of Education from the seven-member Cabinet to a Board made up of seven members appointed by the Governor. The mission of the Board is to oversee the seamless education system, which governs Florida’s K-20 educational system. Ex-officio membership consists of representatives from different educational sectors. For universities and colleges the Chancellor of the Division of Colleges and Universities acts as the representative. For more information, visit the Board of Education website.

Florida Board of Governors
Article IX, Section 7, of the Florida Constitution provides for the Florida Board of Governors to operate, regulate, control, and be fully responsible for the management of the whole university system. The Board of Governors consists of 17 members, 14 of who are appointed by the Governor. In addition to the 14 members appointed by the Governor, the Board of Governors automatically includes the Commissioner of Education, the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates and the President of the Florida Student Association. The Board of Governors coordinates the State University System and supports the roles of the 11 individual Universities. The Division of Colleges and Universities provides support for the Board of Governors. For more information, visit the Board of Governors website.

University Boards of Trustees
Article IX, Section 7, of the Florida Constitution provides for a local board of trustees to administer each constituent state university in the system. The local university board of trustees includes six members appointed by the Governor, five members appointed by the Board of Governors, the Chair of the Faculty Senate, or the equivalent, and the Student Body President. Links to all State University Boards of Trustees are also available at the Board of Governors website.

More information on university governance can be found at the Office of the General Counsel and the FGCU Board of Trustees is available on the FGCU website.

The State University System of Florida (SUS) consists of the public universities in Florida:

  • Florida A&M University (Tallahassee)
  • Florida Atlantic University (Boca Raton)
  • Florida Gulf Coast University (Fort Myers)
  • Florida International University (Miami)
  • Florida State University (Tallahassee)
  • New College of Florida (Sarasota)
  • University of Central Florida (Orlando)
  • University of Florida (Gainesville)
  • University of North Florida (Jacksonville)
  • University of West Florida (Pensacola)
  • University of South Florida (Tampa)
  • Florida Polytech (Lakeland, opening Fall 2013)

University Structure Organization
Executive Group
The University is headed by an Executive Group consisting of the President and the four vice-presidents:

  • Advancement
  • Administrative Services
  • Academic Affairs
  • Student Affairs

The council also includes the Presidential administrative staff:

  • Director of Athletics
  • General Counsel
  • Associate Vice President for Advancement
  • Special Assistant to the president and University spokesperson

This body is the final source of approval for all university-wide policies and is ultimately responsible for strategic planning. The FGCU Statement of Agency Organization and Operation is found on the General Counsel's website.

Faculty, curricular, and other academic matters are administratively the responsibility of the Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, who works with faculty governance to develop and implement appropriate policies and procedures. Each year the university supplies an organizational chart to the Division of Colleges and Universities reflecting how the institution is operating for the coming year. This is done each September.

Academic Affairs
The Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA) is the chief academic officer of the University and assists the President in administering the University's operations and activities. The VPAA exercises the functions of the President in the President's absence. In case of the death or incapacity of the President, the VPAA shall serve as acting president until such time as the President is able to serve or Board of Trustees appoints a successor.

Colleges, Schools, and Departments
An Academic Dean heads each of the Colleges of the University. The structure within each college varies, with some colleges using traditional departmental structures and others opting for alternative ways of organizing, using discipline clusters. In general, administrative, fiscal, and policy responsibility for graduate and undergraduate programs is assigned to the Dean of the College.

Faculty Union
The Board of Trustees recognizes the United Faculty of Florida (UFF) as the bargaining agent for faculty. UFF is a subsidiary of the NEA, and is empowered to bargain wages, hours and terms and conditions of employment for all faculty, whether members of UFF or not. Florida is a right-to-work state, so union membership is not required of faculty.

For additional information, visit the FGCU UFF Chapter website. This site has a link to the current Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA).