Section 508 Website Accessibility

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
FGCU Foundation

FGCU Foundation

Board of Directors


The 2017-2018 Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of twenty-eight Board Members, nineteen Chairpersons Emeriti, four Ex Officio members, and five Foundation Fellows.

The FGCU Foundation is the channel for private gifts to FGCU through annual giving programs, planned gifts (outright gifts such as securities or real estate or deferred gifts through wills and trusts), and capital and other special-purpose campaigns. The Foundation's principal responsibilities are to raise awareness of the need for private support, to solicit gifts on behalf of FGCU, and exercise fiduciary management of those gifts.

The Board of Directors acts to ensure that the mission and purpose of the Foundation is being fulfilled and that all applicable policies and procedures are being followed. The Board may also vote into action initiatives proposed by its special committees.

Upcoming Board Meetings

  • Wednesday, June 6, 2018                                                                                            

All meetings take place in the Ballroom at the Cohen Center and start at 9:00am unless otherwise noted.
Committee meeting information is on the Notices page.

History and Mission

In 1993, a group of dedicated community leaders formed the Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation, Inc., to support the educational mission of Florida Gulf Coast University. The Foundation encourages, solicits, receives and administers gifts for scientific, educational, and charitable purposes, all for the advancement of the University.


David Holmes Chairperson
David Call Vice-Chairperson
Timothy J. Cartwright Treasurer
Steve L. Magiera Assistant Treasurer
Kimberly L. Johnson Secretary
Christopher J. Simoneau Executive Director
Michael V. Martin, Ph.D. University President

Elected Members

Lawrence Antonucci, M.D. Charles Ketteman
David Call Alex Lambros
Timothy J. Cartwright Daniel Lavender
Harry Casimir W. Bernard Lester
Thomas Corcoran David Lucas
Dean M. Fjelstul James Nathan
Joseph D. Gammons Geurt C. Peet
Mary Beth Geier Travus H. Pope
Ann H. Hamilton G. Jeffrey Provol
Dennis Hansch Mayela Rosales
Michael Hartley Joseph R. Schortz
David A. Holmes Samantha Scott
Laura Holquist Lee J. Seidler
Kimberly L. Johnson  Allen Weiss, M.D.

Ex Officio Members

Michael V. Martin, Ph.D. John Counsell
Jesse Bouchard J. Leo Montgomery

Chairpersons Emeriti

Richard C. Ackert Donald Lesch
David Call Stephen S. McIntosh
Joseph R. Catti Edward A. Morton
Miller Couse F. Fred Pezeshkan
Charles B. Edwards G. David Powell
Jeffery D. Fridkin Duane Stranahan, Jr.
John D. Fumagalli Peter Sulick
William N. Horowitz Linda K. Taylor
Charles K. Idelson Charles D. Winton
James F. Knupp  

Foundation Fellows

Fay Biles Alan Korest
Barron Collier III Juliet Sproul
Ben Hill Griffin, III  

FGCU Officers

Susan Evans J. Michael Rollo               
Vee Leonard                    Christopher J. Simoneau
Steve L. Magiera James Llorens