The FGCU Invitational Mathematics Competition is offered by the Department of Mathematics to encourage students to develop their interests and abilities in mathematics. The competition is administered on the main campus of Florida Gulf Coast University located in Fort Myers, Florida. Participation is open to all middle school, junior high school and senior high school students and is divided into six divisions: Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Statistics, Pre-Calculus and Calculus. Students can participate in individual and team rounds for each division.


    The individual scores are calculated using 30 multiple choice questions while the team (division) test scores are calculated by adding four team members' individual scores and the team score together. The Sweepstake is calculated by adding the highest four division scores (Algebra II, Geometry, PreCalculus and Calculus) together to determine the overall school ranking. The highest scoring teams and individuals will be recognized in each division.



15th Annual Competition is scheduled on Friday, December 14th, 2018.




Doral Academy Preparatory School is the overall winner of 2018 FGCU math competition.



Schools Participated in 2018

Barron Collier High School;
Bonita Springs Middle;
Canterbury School;
Cape Coral High School;
Challenger Middle School;
Charlotte High School;
Community School of Naples;
Cypress Creek High School;
Cypress Lake High School;
Doral Academy Elementry School;
Doral Academy High School;
Doral Academy Middle School;
Dr. Michael Krop Senior High;
Dunbar High School;
Edgewater High School;

Estero High School;
Florida SouthWestern Collegiate High;
Fort Myers High School;
Gulf Coast High School;
Gulf Middle School;
Gulf Middle School;
John A. Ferguson Senior High School;
John Carroll High School;
LaBelle High School;
Lee Virtual School;
Lehigh Senior High School;
Lely High School;
Lemon Bay High School;
Lexington Middle School;
Mariner High School;

Mason Classical Academy High School;
Miami Springs Sr. High;
Murdock Middle School;
North Fort Myers High School;
Orlando Science Schools;
Palmetto Ridge High School;
Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School;
Port Charlotte High School;
Royal Palm Academy;
School - Charlotte Campus;
Tarpon Springs High School;
The Village School of Naples;
Three Oaks Middle School;
Three Oaks Middle School;



Schools Participated in 2016


Schools Participated in 2015


Schools Participated in 2014


Schools Participated in 2013


Schools Participated in 2012


Schools Participated in 2011


Schools Participated in 2010