Section 508 Website Accessibility

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Chief of Staff

Chief of Staff

Office of Vice President and Chief of Staff
News and Media
Related Links

Office of Vice President and
Chief of Staff
Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Blvd S.
Fort Myers, FL. 33965-6565

Phone: (239) 590-1006
Fax:     (239) 590-1066

Press Release


National Freshman Honor Society Inducts 56 FGCU Students, 3 Employees Sunday

FORT MYERS, FL - Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society will induct 56 Florida Gulf Coast University freshmen 1 p.m., Sunday, April 6 in the Whitaker Hall Sprint Room.

The oldest and largest freshman honor society, Phi Eta Sigma encourages and rewards academic excellence among freshmen in institutions of higher learning. To be eligible for membership, full-time freshmen must earn a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 in at least one semester and rank in the upper 20 percent of their class.

Induction into the Society is an outward recognition of personal accomplishment and serves as an incentive for continued high scholarship. Induction confers lifetime membership.

In addition to the student ceremony, dean of Student Affairs Joe Shepard, English instructor Linda Rowland and program assistant in Freshman Advising Services Elizabeth “Betty” Tuure will be inducted as honorary members to signify their contributions to the freshman class.

Chapter president Jackie Gregory, vice president Linda Guerinne, secretary Megan Radford and treasurer Brian Zamorski will assist in the ceremony. Director of First Year Advising and Orientation Activities Alice McLeod Brunner is senior adviser for the FGCU chapter.

Candidates to be inducted for the 2003-04 academic year are: Aaron Anderson, Sarah Ascol, Christy Brown, Christina Caldwell, Annette Castillo, Amy Chilcutt, Michaela Christian, Nicole Clark, Jaclyn Cook, Nicole Deese, Stijn Dhespeel, Briana Diercks, Tia Dufresne and Christopher Dukes.

Renee Faried, Erin Frances, Amanda George, Tamara Germana, Alicia Glassman, Nicholas Gulick, Crystal Hendrickson, Casey Honn, Caroline Lally, Jonathan Lamb, Brittany Langenwalter, Nicole Luicci, Megan MacDonald and Francesca Marinaro.

Kelly Markus, Jennifer Markwell, Krystal Marrero, Kamla-Kay McKenzie, Cory Merrill, William Mooney, Ivan Moreno, Joni Newman, Kaitlan O’Donnell, Molly O’Sullivan, Peter Passalacqua, Stephanie Plesz, Tina Rosso and Erin Ryan.

Antoinette Savino, Ashley Shine, Elizabeth Sittler, Samatha Sorenson, Heather Stebbins, Derek Tabor, Kazumi Takenaka, Sarah Thomas, Terry- Ann Tucker, Nicole Vitale, Graham Walker, Serina Williams, Amy Zarbhanelian and Jordan Ziegler.

For more information, contact Brunner at (239) 590-7876 or visit the Phi Eta Sigma Web site at .

[Back to the Press Release Archives]