Section 508 Website Accessibility

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Chief of Staff

Chief of Staff

Office of Vice President and Chief of Staff
News and Media
Related Links

Office of Vice President and
Chief of Staff
Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Blvd S.
Fort Myers, FL. 33965-6565

Phone: (239) 590-1006
Fax:     (239) 590-1066

Press Release


Scholars Club Honors Southwest Florida's High Academic Achievers During Ceremony May 10 in Naples

FORT MYERS, FL - The Public Schools Enrichment Partnership’s Scholars Club at Florida Gulf Coast University invites the public to attend the 14th Annual Academic Achievement Awards ceremony 5 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., Saturday, May 10 at the Naples Hilton and Towers to recognize the scholastic achievement, leadership and volunteer service of local minority and at-risk students in grades K-12.

More than 400 educational excellence awards and 12 merit college scholarships will be presented. The AmSouth Bank scholarship program, now in its second year, will bestow eight FGCU academic scholarships valued at $1,000.

“We are delighted to partner with AmSouth Bank to offer these eight deserving students scholarships to Florida Gulf Coast University,” President William C. Merwin said. “Scholars Club provides outstanding support for students to earn a university degree and we commend the scholarship recipients on their academic, leadership and community service accomplishments.”

AmSouth recipients, who all have grade point averages above 3.0, include Janice Guillen, Linda Laguerre and Dyam Sanchez, Gulf Coast High School; Margaret Oni, Mount Hermon Christian High School; Dottie Evans and Amanda Hitchcock, North Fort Myers High School; Keri-Ann Dwyer, Charlotte High School; and Saneik Buchanan, Cypress Lake High School.

“AmSouth Bank is excited to support this terrific program,” Naples president Ken Aschom said. “Education is a key part of the foundation of a future full of opportunities for our children.”

In addition, Christina Caldwell, FGCU Chapter, will receive the prestigious Excellence in Leadership Award from PSEP co-founders, associate dean of the College of Education Madelyn Isaacs, and director of the Executive MBA program Lee Duffus. Mount Hermon Christian School valedictorian Charity Bailey and Jason Crawford, FGCU Scholars Club, will be awarded academic scholarships from the Garthwaite Family Foundation.

Keynote speaker is associate director of the Southeastern Equity Center Donna Elam, who is widely recognized for her work in education and community service. She is listed in Who’s Who Among African Americans, is a gubernatorial appointee to the Florida Commission on Human Relations, is a member of the Attorney General’s Working Committee on Hate Crimes, and is recipient of the Gandhi, King, Ikeda Award and Medal, among other honors.

Scholars Club is a community-backed partnership between public schools and FGCU to assist and motivate minority and multicultural students. Created in 1989, Scholars Club helps nearly 2,000 students in 50 school chapters throughout Southwest Florida. It is a United Way agency and receives funding from the FGCU Foundation and other foundations, grants and philanthropic individuals.

Scholars Club anticipates over 1,500 community members will attend the awards ceremony.

For more information about Scholars Club, to RSVP the event, or to make a tax-deductible charitable contribution to support the event, scholarships and on-going programs, contact Scholars Club executive director Deborah Dahlmanns at (239) 590-7939.

[Back to the Press Release Archives]