Section 508 Website Accessibility

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Chief of Staff

Chief of Staff

Office of Vice President and Chief of Staff
News and Media
Related Links

Office of Vice President and
Chief of Staff
Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Blvd S.
Fort Myers, FL. 33965-6565

Phone: (239) 590-1006
Fax:     (239) 590-1066

Press Release


FGCU Awards Local Granduates In-State Tuition Waivers Friday

FORT MYERS, FL - Florida Gulf Coast University awards in-state tuition waivers to 12 graduating Scholars Club seniors 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., Friday, May 6 in the Student Union ballroom.

President William C. Merwin, and Scholars Club alumnus and FGCU coordinator of Undergraduate Relations David Anderson will present the 12 award letters.

The FGCU Board of Trustees authorized undergraduate in-state tuition waivers for select students to enhance campus diversity, student leadership, community service and academic quality.

Among other criteria, an applicant must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average, 1050 SAT combined, 22 ACT composite or an outstanding record of leadership achievements to be considered for an in-state tuition waiver. The waiver dispenses with the Florida resident matriculation fee for up to 12 credit hours.

The FGCU Public Schools Enrichment Partnership's Scholars Club is a community-backed partnership between public schools and FGCU to assist and motivate minority and multicultural students. Created in 1989, Scholars Club helps nearly 2,000 students in 50 school chapters throughout Southwest Florida.

Students receiving in-state tuition waivers include:

          Micaela Baltazar     Immokalee High School

          Josefina Castro     Immokalee High School

          Asonté Day     Fort Myers High School

          Marie Diziane     Charlotte High School

          Jasmine D. Green     North Fort Myers High School

          Tricha Louis     Cypress Lake High School

          Travis Lynch     North Fort Myers High School

          Juanita Meza     Immokalee High School

          Nymphgamey Oboute     Charlotte High School

          Geraldina Perez     Gulf Coast High School

          Chantel Robinson     Fort Myers High School

          Katisha Sturgis     North Fort Myers High School
Non-Scholars Club students receiving tuition waivers include Branden Bradley from Norristown, Penn., Emily Buonpastore from Glades County Junior-Senior High School and Marisa Swan from Booker High School.

For more information, contact Scholars Club executive director Deborah Dahlmanns at (239) 590-7939.

[Back to the Press Release Archives]